Evolution, Me, and Other Freaks of Nature – Robin Brande

I finished Evolution, Me, and Other Freaks of Nature a few days ago. It took me a day to read it. Needless to say, I loved it.

It is about a girl, Mena, who is having the worst time of her life. She has been ostracized from her church, barely spoken to by her parents, and lost her friends. The novel starts with a first day of high school: a time known for new beginnings.

Luckily, things begin to look up thanks to Ms. Shepherd, Mena’s crazy science teacher, and her lab partner, Casey Connor (a boy). Alas, new problems arise when Ms. Shepherd begins the evolution section, and class members refuse to believe or be taught the theory.

One of the reasons I loved Evolution, Me, and Other Freaks of Nature was that it was SMART. It covered so many topics in just 272 pages. Combining science & religion. Right vs. wrong. Teenage love. I could keep going on and on.

In the book, Casey’s sister’s boyfriend makes t-shirts with the most hilarious one-liners. My favorite: “Gravity Is Just a Theory–Why Won’t They Tell Us the Truth?”

Robin Brande’s Website.

So, readers I have a question for you: what are your beliefs on evolution and/or creationism?

4 Responses to Evolution, Me, and Other Freaks of Nature – Robin Brande

  1. Lesley says:

    This book sounds like one I may want to recommend to our teen librarian to order for our library. Thanks!

  2. freidenker85 says:

    Hmm, a book about evolution and creationism from the viewpoint of a teenager… Interesting. I can’t help but feeling that it might have a bit of a propaganda-like nature to it. But even so, stories about problems teaching evolution in class are NOT fiction. This book just might do the world a modicum of good by displaying the new tide of American anti-science in a bad light.

    Also, compared to the openly well-manufactured anti-science propoganda machines the likes of the “creation museum”.

  3. Yan says:

    Ooo it sounds really good. I love the cover as well, I’m a sucker for a pretty cover. *add to wishlist, check*

    I’m a strong believer of evolution 😉

    ylin.0621[at]yahoo.com

  4. Lauren says:

    Nice! I’m glad it was a smart book. And I must say, I love the name Casey for a boy.

    Me? It’s kind of both…I believe in God, but I think we did evolve through time.

    -Lauren

Leave a comment