Slam – Nick Hornby

This is the first book I’ve read by Nick Hornby, although About a Boy has been on my enormous to-read list ever since I watched this movie.

Slam is about a boy’s transformation from a child to a mature adult. The narrator is an 18-year-old Sam Jones who looks back on the past few years of his life. His mother had him when she was 16, and history repeats itself when Sam ends up becoming a teenage father himself when his ex-girlfriend, Alicia, becomes pregnant. Slam is about the hardships Sam faces which includes his relationship with Alicia and her parents.

Sam’s favorite thing to do is skate, and Tony Hawk is his idol. Sam has a poster of him in his room that he enjoys talking to. Tony cleverly replies with quotes from his memoir.  Hornby adds a twist when Sam asks Tony for advice on Alicia’s pregnancy, and Tony takes Sam into the future (just a few months) to see what his life will be like.

The novel is slightly predictable, although I suppose any book (or movie) about teenage pregnancy is. Slam’s strength lies in the witty narration, but even the narration could have been better. In the end I am left with only a feeling of disappointment.

Nick Hornby’s website.

3 Responses to Slam – Nick Hornby

  1. Josette says:

    I thought this would be an interesting book. I’ve never read anything by Hornby before. This would be on my TBR list. 🙂

  2. Yan says:

    I like you review, but sadly I don’t think this book sounds very interesting to me =(

    ylin.0621[at]yahoo.com

  3. Lauren says:

    Nice review. I have this book, and I’ve tried to read a bit of it and never really got into it….I’ll try again later, but try something else by Hornby. He’s one of my favorite authors and I love About a Boy and a A Long Way Down.

    _Lauren

Leave a Reply

