Beneath a Marble Sky: A Love Story – John Shors

My first review that is not a YA novel. This is actually the first historical fiction novel I’ve read in two years, and hopefully I read more in the next two years. I seem to be reading nothing but teen angst. πŸ˜‰

Anyways, Beneath a Marble Sky is the story about Princess Jahanara, the daughter of Shah Jahan and Mumtaz Mahal. Many will love Jahanara’s cleverness. The novel is mainly about her love for Isa, the architect of the Taj Mahal. Beneath a Marble Sky also tells the story of Jahanara’s two brothers fighting for the throne. It is a great balance between love and action. I never found myself wishing for action during the love parts of the novel or vice versa. I also found that the main characters were very appealing. My favorites are Dara, Ladli, and Nizam.

If you’re looking for a book to transport you to historical India, then this is it. πŸ™‚

Beneath a Marble Sky website.

2 Responses to Beneath a Marble Sky: A Love Story – John Shors

  1. Yan says:

    I LOVE teenage angst XD

    Not a huge fan of historical fiction, dappled into a couple of books and enjoyed them. I mostly like reading European countries so probably I’ll add it into the maybe pile for something outside of my comfort zone πŸ˜‰

  2. Lauren says:

    I agree with Yan. I’m pretty big on teen angst, and just angst in general. LOL

    Nice review, and I’m glad you liked it. I don’t mind some historical fiction but I’m not sure this would be a book for me.

    -lauren

Leave a Reply

