Hero – Perry Moore

I just recently got into the whole superhero craze. When I was at my friend’s house earlier this summer, we watched the X-Men trilogy. Soon after, I watched Spider-Man 1 & 2 and Batman Begins. I have yet to see The Dark Knight. Heath Ledger looks like an AMAZING villain. 😉 Once I found out about Hero, I knew I had to read it. It does not disappoint. I was on the edge of my seat for almost the entire novel.

Hero is about Thom Creed, a teen with the power to heal. His father, Hal Creed, was an ex-member of The League–a group of superheroes. The most spectacular thing about Hal is that he has not a single superpower, but after one mistake, Hal was banned from the League. Thus, Hal removed all mention of superheroes from the household. Where is Thom’s mother, you ask? Thom’s mother left him and his father under mysterious circumstances a few years ago. And, if this wasn’t enough for Thom, he also faces another obstacle. Telling his father he’s gay. After finding a series of photographs and one bus ride, life soon changes for Thom.

Next, my favorite quote from the novel:

“You can’t go on like you’re going to start really living one day, like all this is some preamble to some great life that’s magically going to appear. I’m a firm believer that you have to create your own miracles, don’t hold out that there’s something better waiting on the other side. It doesn’t work that way. When you’re gone, you’re gone. There’s no pearly white gates with an open bar and all the Midori you can drink. You can only get one go-round and you gotta make it count. I know that sounds harsh, but it’s true. Don’t wait.”

-Ruth

If you’re wondering, Ruth is a character that Thom soon befriends.

I believe Hero will appeal to a wide variety of people. From people who love reading about superheroes to people to who want to read about a father/son relationship to people who want to read about the struggles of being a gay teen. I’m amazed at what all Perry Moore put into one novel.

Perry Moore’s website. If you’ve read Hero, I suggest you read this interview Perry Moore gave.

5 Responses to Hero – Perry Moore

  1. Suzi says:

    Dude, that sounds like so much fun. I definitely need to track this book down!

  2. Yan says:

    The cover reminds me of this movie, but the title escapes me =( It’s about a family of 4 all of whom have superpowers…it’s on the tip of my tongue!

  3. Lauren says:

    I’ve heard about this, but have yet to read it. It does sound like a fun read, and I’m always a fan of LGBT books…

    Loveee the quote!
    -Lauren

  4. A novel about comic-style superheros? Sounds cool!

Leave a Reply

