The Annotated Alice

I first read Alice’s Adventues in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass when I was in sixth grade. I remember absolutely loving them. For a while, it was one of my favorites, and I immediately bought The Annotated Alice. Now, I have finally reread it. First off, let me just say that I absolutely love The Annotated Alice. It’s so PRETTY. I also love all the footnotes, but I admit, I skipped some of the longer ones. The footnotes helped me appreciate the Alice books and Lewis Carroll. Now that I’ve reread this, I would love to read a biography on Lewis Carroll. I’ve heard all the rumors of him being a Victorian pedophile, but I’d love to learn more. Especially the mathematician, or should I say Charles Dodgson. Anyone know any good biographies? The only negative about The Annotated Alice is the size. It’s hard to really curl up and read it. A paperback edition would be nice.

3 Responses to The Annotated Alice

  1. dew says:

    It is a pretty book, isn’t it?

    When I’m curious about a person or topic, I usually head to Wikipedia. If it leaves me wanting more, well, there are links at the bottom to expert sites. And if I still want more, there are often books about the topic mentioned in the Wikipedia article or on the sites the article links to.

  2. Lauren says:

    Oh, sounds good. I’d love to read the actual book before the new movie version is released. Perhaps.

    -lauren

  3. I love Alice in Wonderland too! This sounds like an interesting read. I don’t know of any good bios of Lewis Carroll offhand, but I turn to Wikipedia like the previous poster, ha ha!

Leave a Reply

