The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain

I had to read this book for my American Literature class this year, and it was also mandatory reading for my eighth grade reading class. I never read it in eighth grade. I simply just could not get into it. I stopped after Huck disguised himself as a girl. The rest I looked up on SparkNotes. It was the only mandatory school reading book I did not finish. And now to why I have decided to finish every book I start: I will pick it up again. My teacher gave the class a choice between Huck Finn and Their Eyes Were Watching God. Obviously, I chose Huck Finn, and this time I completed it.

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is about freedom. Huck wants to escape the wrath of his father and has no wish to be civilized. Jim escapes slavery. Together, they have a journey on the Mississippi. On the journey, they meet lots of people of society. The men on the Walter Scott, the Grangerfords, the “Duke” and the “King”, Colonel Sherburn, and the Wilks’s daughters to name a few.

I did not completely enjoy the book. Like when I started it in eighth grade, I didn’t fully get into it. Unlike eighth grade however, I can at least appreciate it. Twain makes a bold move tackling the issue of slavery and society. Still, it is not a book I will ever read again or one I would recommend.

5 Responses to The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain

  1. Jena says:

    it tends to be like that with a lot of required reading. I had to read Huck Finn in 12th grade, and I didn’t particularly enjoy it then, and I’ve forgotten most of it since (which I don’t like to admit, because I love a lot of Twain’s other works).

    are you sorry you didn’t choose Their Eyes Were Watching God? I didn’t read that one till grad school, but thought it was one of the more interesting books I had to read that term. I probably would’ve liked it a lot more had I read it on my own.

    best book I was ever assigned: The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien.

  2. towerofbooks says:

    I’m not sorry. I really wanted to finish what I started in eighth grade, and my teacher let us read about a chapter of Their Eyes Were Watching God, and it didn’t really interest me, but I may read it on my own later, who knows? 😉

    I want to read The Things They Carried!

  3. Maki says:

    I wasn’t a fan of Huck Finn either. I think it was the only book I ever read for school that actually made me go “I HATE BOOKS,” it was that bad for me. I did however, enjoy the last few chapters of the book when Huck went back to save Jim and everything sort of resolved.

  4. Yan says:

    oh wow, I’m going to read this book soon for school and your review is not helping me enjoy this book so far (enough though I haven’t even started it yet…) 😛 Now I’m frighten to even start the book XD

    Oh I actually read The Things They Carried but it was OK to me. I really enjoyed Flowers for Algernon and The Color of Water though =)

  5. Lauren says:

    I liked it okay…more towards the end. Definitely wouldn’t read it again either though!! haha

    -lauren

Leave a Reply

