Johnny Got His Gun – Dalton Trumbo

I am finally back with another review. I did not realize it had been so long. Almost 20 days! I really enjoyed Johnny Got His Gun. It is about Joe Bonham, a soldier during World War I. He wakes up to find himself in a hospital bed where the rest of his life will be spent. Needless to say, the novel is on the depressing side. There were times that I felt like I could not bear to read more.  Maybe that is why it took me so long to finish the book. However, Trumbo would have had a hard time getting his anti-war message across if the novel was not depressing.

So, if you are interested in reading this book, get ready for some sad stuff.

Also, I’m interested in knowing your opinions for the following questions, so I would really appreciate it if you could answer them. If I get enough replies, I’d like to start a discussion for my next post that hopefully will not be the last. 😉

1) What is your opinion of war?

2) What is the most depressing book you have read? If possible, without spoiling the book, what made it so sad?

2 Responses to Johnny Got His Gun – Dalton Trumbo

  1. chartroose says:

    God, this book made me weep so much that I thought I’d never recover! You’re a very thoughtful sixteen year old.

    I hate war, of course. I don’t think we should ever fight unless under attack. Negotiation works almost all the time.

    Saddest book is difficult to think of. Probably “How Green Was My Valley” by Richard Llewellyn. He wrote so lyrically and the last paragraph was just a total killer.

    I’m adding you to my blogroll and bloglines feeds!

  2. Lauren says:

    Wow, this does seem like it would be sad.

    And my opinion of war? I know I’m late…but I guess i just wish it never happened. I don’t think it’s WRONG to have wars, but it’s sad, and it just seems pointless sometimes. Why can’t people just be able to live in peace? sheesh!!!

    Saddest book? Oh gosh, i don’t know..i read a lot of sad books. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult was super sad, but that’s just one of many…

    lauren

Leave a Reply

