Discussion #1

In all, I got three replies for my discussion post which should be enough. Two of them were posted in my personal friends-only livejournal if you’re looking back at the Johnny Got His Gun post. 😉 I think I am going to stay away from political questions in the future. Politics and book blogs (unless a book is political) should not be mixed. As a result, I won’t be discussing the questions, but feel free to if you wish in the comments along with the second question.

Participants:

1. Chartroose

2. Adrienne

3. Maki

Question 1) What is your opinion of war?

Chartroose – I hate war, of course. I don’t think we should ever fight unless under attack. Negotiation works almost all the time.

Adrienne – War is a necessary evil in a world where violence is the answer to all problems. I believe that if it is fought, it should be fought by the people who believe war is the solution–those who vote for it, those who sign off the bill, whatever. All the supporters should have to fight it if they believe in it so strongly, not anyone else.

Maki – I don’t really know how to express my opinion of war. There’s a lot of different aspects to it that are really too complex to get into, and so many different nuances of war depending on who is fighting, and what is being fought that I feel like my opinion would be different depending on each scenario. I mean, war is never good and should never be the first answer to a problem, but sometimes it’s inescapable or necessary for a better future (I am thinking about the French Revolution here which was established through the Civil War which was terrible but how else were these guys going to overthrow the king at Versailles with all their parties and nonchalance to anything that wasn’t themselves?). IDK. IDK AT ALL.

Question 2) What is the most depressing book you have read? If possible, without spoiling the book, what made it so sad?

Chartroose – Probably “How Green Was My Valley” by Richard Llewellyn. He wrote so lyrically and the last paragraph was just a total killer.

Adrienne – I try to read happy novels… but I remember sobbing during Where the Red Fern Grows. Yeah, I can’t really explain why it was so sad without spoiling it, but oh gosh. It made me cry.

Maki – The two saddest books that I read and really enjoyed was The Kite Runner and All Quiet in the Western Front. For me, what gets me the most are the relationships between characters, and I think that is the most I will say about the saddest part about these books. I cried reading both of these books.

Out of these books, Where the Red Fern Grows is the only one I have read. I read it in my fifth grade class, and it was sad. I feel like rereading it one day. While I have not read The Kite Runner or All Quiet in the Western Front, I think I know what Maki means when she says “what gets me the most are the relationships between characters” (correct me if I’m wrong).  To put it in another perspective, it is like hearing that random people were killed on the news. Yeah, it’s sad, but it doesn’t leave the same lasting imprint as knowing the person that was killed. When a book is well-written, it seems that you know the characters; they’re not just some strangers. Therefore, it’s really sad when something terrible happens.

So there is my first discussion post. If you have any suggestions, feel free to offer them. =) I kind of feel like the post is lacking something, but I can’t place my finger on it.

2 Responses to Discussion #1

  1. Maki says:

    RE: Question #2: You’re right in what you said, but what I meant about relationships between characters, I meant it more in a character/character relationship, rather than the reader/character relationship. I guess a theme on both of the books (The Kite Runner and All Quiet) is this strong sense of friendship between the characters you meet. So you meet all of these people, they are either forced together through tough times, or are siblings or best friends and have been together for a long time, then through whatever plot goes on, events occur that really try the bonds of these characters. You see the sacrifices one would make for each other, or misunderstandings that stir up their friendship. Whether it’s a small troop of soldiers risking their lives for each other, or an old friend trying to set things right.

    I was trying to recall scenes from both books I mentioned and what made it such a tearjerker for me, and the korean movie Tae Guk Gi kept popping up in my head. Have you ever seen it? It’s another war-themed thing, set during the Korean war. UGH This movie is the only movie that has ever made me cry, and when I mean cry I am talking about bawling like a baby who just crapped his pants kind of crying.

    (HOLY COW I WRITE A LOT SORRY)

  2. towerofbooks says:

    Thanks for clarifying, and no, I haven’t seen that movie.

Leave a Reply

