Revealers – Amanda Marrone

I can’t believe Thanksgiving break is already over. I don’t want to go to school tomorrow. heh. Anyway, I received this from PulseIt. It was my first book from the program, and I can’t wait to get more. =)

From back cover:

Jules has a rebellious streak, a massive crush on Connor, and the abilities of a Revealer witch. By day, she and her coven friends seem like typical high school seniors. By night, they have the power to make werewolves, vampires, and ghosts reveal themselves, so they can destroy them. It’s not exactly cheerleading, but at least the girls know they’re doing the world some good.

One by one, Jules’s friends turn eighteen and are initiated into the coven’s inner circle. And one by one, they are getting completely freaked out. Jules is the youngest, and though her friends are too scared tell her what’s going on, something’s clearly not right. As her birthday approaches, Jules realizes she’s got to find out what’s behind the shadows of her coven before it’s too late to save her friends…and herself. But what she discovers may be too powerful for even the toughest witches to defeat.

Before I begin, I believe the only other books I’ve read about witches, werewolves, or vampires is the Harry Potter series. I mean, I haven’t even read TWILIGHT (Despite what I said on my first post, I do plan on reading it). When I received Revealers in the mail, I was looking forward to reading it. It was something new and different from what I normally read.

I wish I could have enjoyed it more. Revealers had the potential to be an amazing book, but it fell short. Revealers had great characters. I loved Jules and all of the minor characters.There was something intriguing about Connor, and the other witches in the coven were also appealing. The coven was also a great idea.

My dislike about the novel was that it felt rushed. When I read the first few pages, I was completely confused. The reader is immediately introduced to several characters and what the witches do. While the rushed feeling continued, the confusion did not. I was able to figure out what was going through the rest of the novel.

Even though, I did not particularly like Revealers, I’d still like to read other books about Jules and her friends or the coven. It’s a shame Revealers did not go into as much depth as I would have liked. It would have made the novel more entertaining.

7 Responses to Revealers – Amanda Marrone

  1. Yan says:

    It seemed to be such a promising book from the description…

  2. Donna says:

    Great review. The back sounded so good, I couldnt decide to pick it up or not. Now maybe I will wait till it is bargain priced.

  3. Lauren says:

    It does sound like a good book. That’s a bummer that it was rushed though. I always that. I think it would be a cool book to try at some point though.

    -lauren
    lauren51990 AT aol DOT com

  4. Emily says:

    I still have yet to read this, I am going to start it tonight, but I am not looking forward to it now… :/

  5. Dominique says:

    I agree w/ Yan; it does sound like a promising book, but too bad it fell short 😦 There are soo many vampire/witches/supernatural related books out there today, especially since the success of Harry Potter & Twilight! It’s crazy! There’s a new vampire book out every time I hit the bookstore! I guess vampires are the ‘in’ things right now! lol

  6. Zara says:

    I’ve been on the fence about buying this book, so I think I’ll hold off now or buy it used. I really hate when books have so much potential, but diminish it by forcing things to move too quickly. I’ll probably still read it, but not at full price. Thanks!

  7. Alea says:

    I emailed you this morning to let you know you won The Monster of Florence in my Novel Adventures Giveaway! Could you email me back with your mailing address? Thanks! 😀

    aleareads@gmail dot com

Leave a Reply

