Far From You – Lisa Schroeder

Alice’s mother died of cancer years ago. However, she has yet to move on. Things worsen when her father remarries, and her half-sister, Ivy, is born. Of course, Alice has a few things in her life: her wonderful boyfriend Blaze, her best friend Claire, her music, and most importantly, her faith.

However, one day over Thanksgiving Break, Alice, Ivy, and her stepmom become trapped in a snowstorm. Now Alice must deal with issues she has long avoided and wait for her angel to save her…

I enjoyed Far From You. The greatest strength of novel is that it is written in verse. I don’t normally read books in verse, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I am pleased to say I was not disappointed. Schroeder’s writing is engaging, this novel definitely makes me believe in the phrase, “Less is more.”  I am now  more interested in reading Lisa Schroeder’s other work I Heart You, You Haunt Me.

The only real criticism of Far From You I have is the cast of characters. I felt that they were underdeveloped. After I finished reading the book, I realized that I knew very little about Blaze, Claire, or even Alice, but this is not something that should detract anyone from the novel. It is worth reading. 🙂

2 Responses to Far From You – Lisa Schroeder

  1. […] questions themselves. The first author to be featured is Lisa Schroeder, author of Far From You (my review) and I Heart You, You Haunt Me (Story Siren’s […]

  2. Lis says:

    This book sounds really good! Definitely going on my wishlist now!

Leave a Reply

