Ask an Author – Lisa Schroeder Answers

Lisa Schroeder is the author of I Heart You, You Haunt Me and Far From You. All the of questions she answered were written by me. In a later post, I will post more about changes to Ask an Author (so I can actually get questions sent or scrap the idea). Without further ado, the questions! 🙂

1) Where did you get the idea behind Far From You?

For me, a book often starts with a few seeds of ideas that I sit down and play around with and see what they might grow into. I had been thinking about that book OUT OF THE DUST which makes you feel dusty and hot as you read and I thought, what would be the opposite of that, which made me answer, cold and snow. And I thought of snowflakes and snow angels and realized I could probably do some poetic things with that subject. I had always wanted to do a book where the main character was a singer and songwriter, so I decided this would be that book, and it worked out really well, because the songs worked nicely in the story. And finally, I had wanted to do a book with Alice in Wonderland elements, and decided to make that part of this book as well.

2) Who’s your favorite character from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and why?
Oooh, good question. I really love Alice. I love that she is a girl full of imagination. And I like that she doesn’t like rudeness and doesn’t tolerate it much in others.
3) Have you always wanted to write in verse, or was it something that just happened?
Yeah, people often ask why I chose to write my first book, I HEART YOU, YOU HAUNT ME in verse and really I didn’t choose it as much as it chose me. I sat down to write and that’s how it came out. It created an atmosphere for the story that I don’t think I could have created otherwise. Not all books are going to work in verse, and I know that. But when it does, and there’s an emotional experience for the main character I want to maximize, writing in verse works really well for me.
4) Did you always want to write for young adults and children?

I think it was in the back of my mind for much longer than I realized. I was at a crossroads in my life trying to figure out what I wanted to do. When I got quiet and asked myself, what’s the dream in your heart, a small voice said, write for kids, write for kids. And so one day I thought, why not try and see what happens? And I haven’t looked back since.
5) As a teen, what authors did you enjoy reading?

Judy Blume, of course, V.C. Andrews, and that’s about it. I read a lot in late elementary and middle school, but once I hit college, and we were reading things like THE GREAT GATSBY in high school, I didn’t read much for pleasure. If only I’d had the amazing selection of books we have today!!
6) Read any good books lately?

I read an advanced review copy of Elizabeth Scott’s latest one coming out next month, called SOMETHING, MAYBE and I really enjoyed it. I also read PRINCESS BEN by Catherine Murdock and that was a fun read. I have a huge pile of books here to get through – there’s never as much time to read as I would like!
7) What are your favorite bands or singers?

I love singer/songwriters. I’m a huge fan of Lifehouse, Matt Nathanson, and the Goo Goo Dolls. I also love Taylor Swift and Sarah Mclachlan.

8 ) Hot or cold?

I would much rather be hot. With a cold drink in my hand. And a book in the other.

9) How much do you love pie?

Mmmm, I love pie to the moon and back! Warm blackberry pie with vanilla ice cream is my favorite! I make at least one every summer, usually two or three, picking the blackberries myself and everything!
10) Anything else you’d like to add?

Thanks for having me here and for your thoughtful questions!!
I’d like to thank you too for taking the time to answer my questions. 🙂 To visit Lisa Schroeder’s website, click here.
One Response to Ask an Author – Lisa Schroeder Answers

  1. chartroose says:

    I’ll have to check her out…

Leave a Reply

