Paper Towns – John Green

February 21, 2009

On an unrelated note, I will be extending the deadline for my Guess the Cover contest to March 15. If you are stumped, then don’t worry, I plan on giving hints later.

When Margo Roth Spiegelman beckons Quentin Jacobsen in the middle of the night — dressed like a ninja and plotting an ingenious campaign of revenge — he follows her. Margo’s always planned extravagantly, and, until now, she’s always planned solo. After a lifetime of loving Margo from afar, things are finally looking up for Q… until day breaks and she has vanished. Always an enigma, Margo has now become a mystery. But there are clues. And they’re for Q.

I absolutely loved Paper Towns. I could not put this book down, and I ended up finishing it in three school days. Usually, with school, it takes me at least a week to finish a book. The book was witty, meaningful, and just plain fun. The deeper meaning was my favorite part of the novel. Because of the similar theme, Paper Towns strongly reminded me of The Great Gatsby. In fact, after I finished reading The Great Gatsby and Winter Dreams (a short story also by F. Scott Fitzgerald with the same theme) for English last semester, I could not stop thinking how people wrongly perceive other people as idols or perfections. Now, I am experiencing the same feeling.

Green also seamlessly wove symbols into the story. One example is the black Santas that Radar’s parents collect. I actually did not catch this one while I was reading. How did I find out about it, then? By looking at a vlog by John Green. I don’t know how many of you have seen it, but if you’re interested, it’s at the end of this post. Another thing I enjoyed about the novel was the inclusion of interesting tidbits. The obvious one is paper towns, specifically where Margo disappeared to. Omnictionary was also a clever name, and I enjoyed Leaves of Grass too.

Paper Towns is now one of my favorite novels. I wish I had read it before I made my page header because now I want Paper Towns included in it. I guess the question would have been, which cover? I’ll probably add it after my contest is over. Now, I need to read An Abundance of Katherines. I’ve already read Looking for Alaska. 😉

