In My Mailbox March 2-7

In My Mailbox was created by the lovely Story Siren. The summary is from Barnes & Noble. It seems like every week for me is either 1 or 2 books, but hey, something is better than nothing. 😉

Invisible Man – Ralph Ellison (for class)

Invisible Man is a milestone in American literature, a book that has continued to engage readers since its appearance in 1952.  A first novel by an unknown writer, it remained on the bestseller list for sixteen weeks, won the National Book Award for fiction, and established Ralph Ellison as one of the key writers of the century.  The nameless narrator of the novel describes growing up in a black community in the South, attending a Negro college from which he is expelled, moving to New York and becoming the chief spokesman of the Harlem branch of “the Brotherhood”, and retreating amid violence and confusion to the basement lair of the Invisible Man he imagines himself to be.  The book is a passionate and witty tour de force of style, strongly influenced by T.S. Eliot’s The Waste Land, Joyce, and Dostoevsky.

5 Responses to In My Mailbox March 2-7

  1. Thanks for your lovely comment. :3

  2. rwjohnston says:

    My least favorite book that I had to read ever. EVER. You poor thing.

  3. Erika Lynn says:

    i wouldn’t say it is my least favorite but I definitely didn’t love this book when I read it in college. hope you enjoy it more.

  4. chartroose says:

    I liked this novel, and I wonder why some of your other readers disliked it so much. Interrrresting…

Leave a Reply

