Soundtrack Saturday 3

Soundtrack Saturday was started by Persnickety Snark.  I forgot to mention that last week. 😦

This week’s book is Absolutely Maybe by Lisa Yee. I finished it today, so expect a review next week. I am actually going to pick  two songs this week because I can’t decide which one I like for the novel better.

The first one is California by Phantom Planet. In Absolutely Maybe, Maybe and her friends Ted and Hollywood go to California.

My next choice is Celluloid Heroes by The Kinks. Celluloid Heroes features the names of many famous old actors. In Absolutely Maybe, Ted works for Gloria de la Tour who was once a Hollywood starlet. Now, most people think she is already dead. De la Tour reminds me of an actress that could be featured in “Celluloid Heroes.” I also think of Chessy when I hear this part:

I wish my life was a non-stop Hollywood movie show
A fantasy world of celluloid villains and heroes
‘Cause celluloid heroes never feel any pain
And celluloid heroes never really die

Leave a Reply

