The Guardian – Joyce Sweeney

Thirteen-year-old Hunter has been shuffled around different foster homes for most of his life.  For the past few years, he has lived with his foster parents Stephanie and Mike and three siblings. Stephanie has always disliked Hunter, but she does not dare touch him with Mike around. Then, Mike dies, and Hunter must protect himself from Stephanie’s wrath. Luckily, there seems to be a mysterious force helping Hunter. The question is, do guardian angels truly exist?

I received this novel from Henry Holt’s In Group, and I was not sure what to expect. Overall, I was satisfied. The writing is straight forward, and the novel is told in first person which created a raw feeling throughout the novel. I liked Hunter as a character. While his choice not to call social services sometimes frustrated me, I understood it. Under Stephanie’s roof, Hunter had a family. If he called social services, not only would he put himself back into the system, but also his sisters. Also, he was delusional. All of a sudden his life was getting better. Who’s to say his life with Stephanie could not get better?

My least favorite part of the novel was right after the climax. I do not want to spoil anything, but Sweeney chose to skip details about one important detail in the book. It felt like the novel skipped a chapter. Another thing I disliked were all the foster families Hunter lived with. Hunter was shuffled around because his foster parents. It gives foster families a bad reputation. Mike was the only good foster parent, and I’m amazing at the control he had over Stephanie! It’s almost unbelievable, now that I look back at it.

From what I’ve written above, it seems like I disliked The Guardian more than I liked it, but that’s not true. I actually did enjoy it. The plot was exciting, and I liked the guardian angel stuff. I just wished Sweeney spent more time tweaking it.

2 Responses to The Guardian – Joyce Sweeney

  1. Paradox says:

    I also got this book from the In Group, and I liked it about as much as you did, even though this isn’t really my type of book.

  2. […] Carrie Ryan – BookDivas Go With Grace – George Alexopoulos – bought on bookcloseouts The Guardian – Joyce Sweeney – Holt In Group Shine, Coconut Moon – Neesha Meminger – Simon Pulse […]

Leave a Reply

