The Forest of Hands and Teeth – Carrie Ryan

Ever since she was child, Mary yearned to see the ocean. Most of the people in Mary’s village think she is foolish to think anything but their village exists. They have always been told that their small village was the only thing left after the Return. The village is surrounded by fences, so the Unconsecrated (zombies) can’t reach them. After Mary’s mom is taken by the Unconsecrated, Mary must join the Sisterhood. There, she learns that the Sisterhood has been keeping secrets, and that her village is not the only thing left in the world. Does this mean that a vast area of water, unaffected by the Unconsecrated still exists? And how far will Mary go to find the ocean?

First of all, I loved The Forest of Hands and Teeth. The novel was thrilling and took no easy way outs. I liked how Ryan chose the focus on the apocalypse after it happened. This gave the novel unique feel. My favorite thing about the novel was Mary. She was a flawed person, but a realistic character. I did not like all of her decisions, but I understood that her decisions were her choices. I know that must sound confusing, but what I mean is that Mary knew what she was doing the entire time was what was best for her. Although, admittedly, some readers will be frustrated with how far Mary was willing to go to reach her dream.

I also enjoyed the part where Ryan subtly touched on religion and its flaws. When I reached the end of the novel, I was sad. I wanted more! However, because the point-of-view surrounded around Mary, more of a resolution would have been impossible.

I can’t wait for the companion novel!

2 Responses to The Forest of Hands and Teeth – Carrie Ryan

  1. Paradox says:

    I loved The Forest of Hands and Teeth too! I can’t wait for The Dead-Tossed Waves!

Leave a Reply

