Cancer is a Bitch – Gail Konop Baker

At the age of 45, Gail Konop Baker is a mother of three with a radiologist as a husband. She practiced yoga, ran, ate organic food, and rarely became sick. Gail also hoped to start her writing career with her novel about a woman with breast cancer. Then, strangely enough, not long before Valentine’s Day, Gail is diagnosed with breast cancer. This begins her struggle with marriage, children, with her oldest going to college soon, family, and of course, the cancer itself–all in a heartfelt and humorous way.

I received this novel from LibraryThing’s Early Reviewer’s program. Frankly, when I learned I was going to receive this book, I thought, “Why did I request that?” Luckily, I found myself pleasantly surprsied. Baker’s humorous tone made the novel a quick read. I also liked that, for a book that deals cancer, the novel was not sad or too self-pitying. The novel is titled as Cancer is a Bitch: Or I’d Rather be Having a Midlife Crisis, but through the novel, Baker has a midlife crisis, so the novel is not just about cancer, which was also nice. I enjoyed reading about her family and experiences. Because her husband was a doctor, Baker knew most of her doctors on a more personal level, which, I’m sure you can imagine, can be odd, especially when you’re lifting up your shirt at your doctor’s appointment.

The best part about this novel is that I would want to read it even if Baker did not have cancer or was going through a midlife crisis. That’s how powerful of a narrator she is. She can make going to the grocery store seem interesting.

4 Responses to Cancer is a Bitch – Gail Konop Baker

  1. Diana Dang says:

    Grocery shopping interesting?? Now that I got to see!

  2. gail says:

    Hey Krista!

    Thanks for your kind words about my book! Gail

  3. Yeah, you really did sell this book with that last line, didn’t ya? lol I think it sounds like a good book and I love the title. 🙂

    -Lauren

  4. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

Leave a Reply

