City of Bones – Cassandra Clare

Before I begin, I want to say that this is a non-spoiler review, so feel free to read. 🙂

Clary had no idea how much her life would change when she walked into Pandemonium Club with her best friend Simon. At the club, she sees three strange teenagers kill someone. The weirdest part? After they killed the “boy”, the body completely vanishes! Clary learns that the teenages, Jace, Isabelle, and Alec are a part of a group called Shadowhunters. Shadowhunters free the world from demons. Clary soon learns that she and her mother are a part of this mysterious world…

I was overjoyed when I learned that I would receive this book from the Pulse It program back in April. I had been wanting to read the series for some time. Luckily, I was not disappointed. City of Bones was filled with twists and turns, which made me want to keep reading. The characters were also very likable. My favorites were Clary, Jace, and Simon. Almost every character had a hidden past, and reading about it was probably my favorite part of the novel. The past revealed that things were not like they originally seemed. This is kind of random and insignificant to the novel, but another part that I really enjoyed was this quote:

He raised an eyebrow, which made Clary instantly jealous. She’d always wanted to be able to do that.

I have always wanted to be able to raise my eyebrow one at a time too! Seriously, I love watching people do it!

On a more important note, the only thing I did not like about the novel was the pacing. The pacing is very controlled. By controlled, I mean most readers will probably have read the book slightly slower than an average book to understand all the descriptions. It’s almost as if Clare is saying to readers, “I know you want to find out what’s going to happen next, but I’d rather torment you with insignificant(, yet interesting) details. Muahaha!” It is hard for this type of pacing to work well for a fantasy novel, especially for City of Bones.  When I read a fantasy novel, I want a book a fast-paced, action-filled novel. While City of Bones had plenty of action, I would not call it a fast-paced novel.

Still, City of Bones is a great start to series, and now I really want to read the other novels!

4 Responses to City of Bones – Cassandra Clare

  1. rwjohnston says:

    Great review! I agree that the pacing is controlled and there are lots of detail. It took me longer than most books to read this one, but I feel like the style is distinctive enough to work very well. After all, most fantasy doesn’t involve gay warlocks or motorcycles. 😄

  2. Diana Dang says:

    Haha, I always make my character raise a perfect eyebrow. I can never accomplish that myself…

    I hope to read City of the Bones one day. I see it cheap at Costco but I’m still reluctant to buy it! And my to-read stack is crawling up to my height so I can’t add anymore ><

  3. Lianne says:

    awesome review, I really want to read this series!

  4. Paradox says:

    I haven’t read this series yet, but I want to, so I’m glad that it’s so good!

Leave a Reply

