In My Mailbox June 15-20

In My Mailbox was created by Kristi of The Story Siren. Also, be sure to enter my contest for a chance to win two books. 😉

Suite Scarlett – Maureen Johnson
Her new summer job comes with baggage.

Scarlett Martin has grown up in a most unusual way. Her family owns the Hopewell, a small hotel in the heart of New York City, and Scarlett lives there with her four siblings – Spencer, Lola, and Marlene.

When each of the Martins turns fifteen, they are expected to take over the care of a suite in the once elegant, now shabby Art Deco hotel. For Scarlett’s fifteenth birthday, she gets both a room called the Empire Suite, and a permanent guest called Mrs. Amberson.

Scarlett doesn’t quite know what to make of this C-list starlet, world traveler, and aspiring autobiographer who wants to take over her life. And when she meets Eric, an astonishingly gorgeous actor who has just moved to the city, her summer takes a second unexpected turn.

Before the summer is over, Scarlett will have to survive a whirlwind of thievery, Broadway glamour, romantic missteps, and theatrical deceptions. But in the city where anything can happen, she just might be able to pull it off.

Gruber’s Complete SAT Guide 2008 – Gary Gruber

For more than 30 years, Dr. Gary Gruber has been the leading authority on testing and test preparation—his Gruber Method has helped thousands of students develop critical thinking skills, dramatically boosting their scores on standardized tests. Now in its 11th edition, Gruber’s Complete SAT Guide is the best and most effective complete study guide for students tackling the most important test of their lives.

Can you tell what I plan to do the next few months? 😉

17 Responses to In My Mailbox June 15-20

  1. Rebecca says:

    Nice books, Suite Scarlett sounds like a good read. Enjoy and good luck with your study.

  2. Diane says:

    Suite Scarlett is on my list. Have a good week.

  3. Suite Scarlett is a book that I have heard nothing but great things about and It has been on my wish list for a good while. Every time I see it on someones IMMB post…I kick myself for not getting it. *Makes note to buy it this week*

    I hope you enjoy this wonderful read and cannot wait to see what you think about it

  4. Dirty Pages says:

    Yike, haven’t thought about SATs in years.

    Good luck!

  5. I love Suite Scarlett. The paperback cover is awesome. I can’t wait for the sequel.

    YA Book Carnival is live. Come and celebrate. 🙂

    -Lauren

  6. rwjohnston says:

    I really want to read Suite Scarlett, but the hardback cover was better.

  7. Good Luck with your SATs! Happy Reading!!

  8. Lizzy says:

    Suite Scarlett was great! Good luck on your SATs (I need to start studying for my GREs…) and Happy Reading

  9. Callie (Handle Like Hendrix) says:

    Hope the studying goes well. I have Suite Scarlett and it looks really good. Happy reading!

  10. Briana says:

    Good luck with the SATS. You’ll have better luck with them than I did, I’m sure. I didn’t get into my first choice school because of them :/. But atleast I got in somewhere haha.

  11. harmonybookreviews says:

    I should be getting my copy of Suite Scarlett sometime soon. I hope you enjoy it!

  12. Carrie says:

    Good luck with your studying. I had to take the ACT oh so many years ago. It won’t be so bad.

  13. readwhatyouknow says:

    Thanks for the visit last week!

    I loved “Suite Scarlett.” It was in my mailbox last week. Be sure to let us know what you thought of it!

    Good luck with studying. I’m sure you’ll do just great!

  14. marie says:

    SATs! Good luck! Studying=Ugh

  15. I got Suite Scarlett too. I’ll be looking forward to reading what you think of it!

  16. Alexa says:

    Suite Scarlett sounds like a good book. I might need to get my hands a copy to see for myself though.

Leave a Reply

