I Love You, Beth Cooper – Larry Doyle

As class valedictorian, Denis Cooverman must give a speech during graduation. Instead of giving a typical speech, Denis decides to say the things he never said before. The most important of these is his feelings for Beth Cooper. While Denis is the captain of the debate team, Beth is head cheerleader and the most popular girl in school. The only reason Beth even knows Denis is because of their last names being so close together (Cooper, Cooverman). Not too mention, her boyfriend, Kevin, is in the Army and wants to beat Denis to a pulp. Following graduation, Denis has an unforgettable night and realizes what high school is really about.

I Love You, Beth Cooper was on my wishlist for at least year. When I heard it was being made into movie, I figured I should read it. I was not disappointed. I Love You Beth Cooper is a hilarious coming-of-age read. One of the weirdest things about this book is that is seems like it was written to be made into a movie. Maybe that’s because Doyle was a former TV editor. Another thing I like about the novel is that the antics were funny, yet believable. In some novels, antics can become too ridiculous, but not in this novel.

The characters in I Love You, Beth Cooper are very relatable. Most people will be able to find traits in each character that remind them of people they knew in high school. While I’m sure most people in high school will be able to enjoy this novel, I think people who graduated years ago will enjoy it more. I Love You, Beth Cooper just has a nostalgic factor about it. I’m pretty sure this novel is labeled as adult fiction, and if you are concerned about appropriateness, I think this book is suitable for teens 16 and older.

Below, I have the trailer for the movie, which will be released July 10th. I am usually slightly weary about movies based on books, but this movie actually looks good. Hopefully, I am not disappointed once I see it.

5 Responses to I Love You, Beth Cooper – Larry Doyle

  1. robintitan says:

    I liked this book too soo funny! I am very curious about the movie and hope it doesn’t disappoint. I got screening tickets to see it this Thursday, I can’t wait! šŸ˜€

  2. Alexa says:

    I haven’t read the book yet, but the movie looks good.

  3. rachel says:

    isn’t there a movie coming out?
    i’ll have 2 read it.

  4. Paradox says:

    The books sounds so funny, and I can’t wait to see the movie, so I should read it!

Leave a Reply

