In My Mailbox July 20-25

In My Mailbox was created by Kristi of The Story Siren. Summaries are from Barnes and Noble.

Twilight – Stephenie Meyer
Isabella Swan’s move to Forks, a small, perpetually rainy town in Washington, could have been the most boring move she ever made. But once she meets the mysterious and alluring Edward Cullen, Isabella’s life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn. Up until now, Edward has managed to keep his vampire identity a secret in the small community he lives in, but now nobody is safe, especially Isabella, the person Edward holds most dear. The lovers find themselves balanced precariously on the point of a knife — between desire and danger.

Deeply romantic and extraordinarily suspenseful, Twilight captures the struggle between defying our instincts and satisfying our desires. This is a love story with bite.

City of Ashes – Cassandra Clare
Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

In this breathtaking sequel to City of Bones, Cassandra Clare lures her readers back into the dark grip of New York City’s Downworld, where love is never safe and power becomes the deadliest temptation.

Twenty Boy Summer – Sarah Ockler
According to her best friend Frankie, twenty days in ZanzibarBay is the perfect opportunity to have a summer fling, and if they meet one boy ever day, there’s a pretty good chance Anna will find her first summer romance. Anna lightheartedly agrees to the game, but there’s something she hasn’t told Frankie—she’s already had that kind of romance, and it was with Frankie’s older brother, Matt, just before his tragic death one year ago.

Beautifully written and emotionally honest, this is a debut novel that explores what it truly means to love someone and what it means to grieve, and ultimately, how to make the most of every single moment this world has to offer.

Hana-Kimi Volume 1 – Hisaya Nakajo
Japanese-American track-and-field star Mizuki has gotten herself a transfer to a high school in Japan…but not just any school! To be close to her idol, high jumper Izumi Sano, she’s going to an all-boys’ high school…and disguising herself as a boy! But as fate would have it, they’re more than classmates…they’re roommates! Now, Mizuki must keep her secret in the classroom, the locker room, and her own bedroom. And her classmates – and the school nurse – must cope with a new transfer student who may make them question their own orientation…

My Thoughts
So I’m pretty much the only girl that enjoys reading that hasn’t read the Twilight series yet. I still haven’t started Twilight, but I plan to read it before the school starts. I’m also excited about reading the second book in the Mortal Instruments series! After reading City of Bones from Pulse It, I knew I had the buy the other two novels. Twenty Boy Summer also looks great! I hope I can get to it before school starts, and I’m also excited about starting the Hana-Kimi series because I loved the jdrama.

13 Responses to In My Mailbox July 20-25

  1. Diana Dang says:

    Eek, you sure you want to have spent your money on Twilight? Well, you might like it. I’m curious on your opinion for this one.

    And Hana-Kimi is long. o-o I used to download the volumes like five years ago. It just got too long and complicated for me. So over the place. x.x

    • towerofbooks says:

      Well the book was only $6.52. I was originally going to borrow it from a friend, but after telling her for months, she still hasn’t given it to me. πŸ˜›

  2. Oh gosh, enjoy Twilight! And 20 boy Siummer was one of my favorite books of the year so far! Hope you like it!

    xoxoxo

    ~ ReaderGirl

  3. Woah I haven’t met a book reviewer who has not read Twilight! Well, can’t wait to see your review! πŸ™‚

    I really really liked Twenty Boy Summer, you’ll love it. Happy reading!

  4. Michelle says:

    I love The Mortal Instrument Series. Enjoy your books.

    Peace
    Michelle

  5. Lizzy says:

    Hope you enjoy your books (I’m interesting to see what you think of Twilight). I really enjoyed Twenty Boy Summer

    Happy reading!

  6. readwhatyouknow says:

    I love The Mortal Instruments series. I can’t wait for Cassandra Clare’s new series either.

    I’m totally going to come back and see what you thought about “Twilight.” I read it before the craze, but it will be so interesting to see how people read it through for a first time after the craze.

    Happy reading!

  7. Rebecca says:

    Great books you got this week. The Twilight series is quite a good one. Can’t wait to see what you think of it as there are so many opinions about Twilight around.

  8. Eden says:

    Twilight is a fun read but don’t expect much of the writing. I got into it before the “craze” and rereading the series I felt Twilight was somewhat lacking. But the rest of the series improves. I’m sure you will still enjoy it because it’s character driven and who doesn’t love a sexy guy =)

    The Mortal Instrument series is fantastic. If you enjoyed City of Bones I’m sure you love City of Ashes.

    I just bought 20 Boy Summer this week as well!

    Happy reading =)

  9. Wdebo says:

    OMG OMG OMG HANA KIMI!!!!! Hope you enjoy it, I loved it!!

    And I haven’t watched the JDrama at all, but you MUST watch the TDrama, I became such a big Ella + Chun supporter after that show ❀ ❀ ❀ [Oh I would love to continue this converstation on my cbox!!!]

    Wdebo πŸ™‚

  10. awesome books!!! i love those books… well cept for the last one, haven’t read that. happy reading!

Leave a Reply

