Survey

Today, I have a survey. =) I found it on Steph Su Reads.

Hardback, trade paperback or mass market paperback?

Hardback. They just look so elegant and classic. 😛

Barnes & Noble or Borders?

Barnes & Noble. B&N is closer and has a larger selection than any of the Borders near my area.

Bookmark or dog-ear?

Post-Its!

Amazon or brick-and-mortar?

As much as I love bookstores, I have to say amazon. The selection is bigger and generally less expensive.

Alphabetize by author, or alphabetize by title, or random?

I alphabetize by author. Now that my bookcase if overflowing, though, I have to have several places with books alphabetized by author. 😛

Keep, throw away, or sell?

Usually keep. If I already have a copy of the book or do not want the novel, I give it away or bookmooch.

Keep dust jacket or toss it?

Keep it, of course.

Read with dust jacket or remove it?

I read with it on. I find it more comfortable to raise it about a centimeter when reading though.

Short story or novel?

Novels. Short stories leave me wanting more.

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket?

This question bothers me because it compares a character to an author (even if it is a pen name). Anyway, HP all the way!

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks?

Ending at chapter breaks is always nice, but I usually stop reading when I’m tired. Always at the beginning/end of a paragraph though.

“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”?

I actually like both, so it’s hard to choose! *hopes you did not notice I didn’t actually answer the question*

Buy or borrow?

Buy. I am selfish, I know…

Buying choice: book reviews, recommendations, or browse?

Recommendations

Tidy ending or cliffhanger?

Tidy endings. Cliffhangers make me feel obliged to read the next book.

Morning reading, afternoon reading, or nighttime reading?

I read all times of day!

Stand-alone or series?

Stand-alones. It’s hard for me to finish series. To date, the only one I’ve ever finished is Harry Potter. I plan on changing that though.

Favorite series?

Harry Potter. 😛

Favorite children’s book?
The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin.

Favorite YA book?

The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier.

Favorite book of which nobody else has heard?

Full Service by Will Weaver.

Favorite books read last year?
The Hunger Games!

Favorite books of all time?

The Chocolate War, Franny and Zooey, Full Service,  Paper Towns, and Hero

What are you reading right now?

Frankenstein – Mary Shelley, The White Queen – Philippa Gregory, and Accepted by Kate (or Katie) something.

What are you reading next?

The Cave – Steve McGill.

Favorite book to recommend to an 11-year-old?

The Westing Game!

Favorite book to re-read?

Franny and Zooey

Do you ever smell books?

Yes I do.

Do you ever read primary source documents like letters or diaries?

Not really.

One Response to Survey

  1. […] I’ve not been posting as much as I should/could lately. Um…I’ll fix that soon? In the meantime, a meme! From Tower of Books. […]

Leave a Reply

