BBAW Interview

As you hopefully know, this week is Book Blogger Appreciation Week. As a part of the festivities, I have the pleasure of interviewing a fellow book blogger. I was paired with Donna of Bites. Enjoy!

1. First of all, tell me about yourself and your blog.

Well, my name’s Donna, I’m 26, I work in insurance by day and the writing world by night. I’ve been writing since I was 9 and I’m currently on the final (hopefully) edit of a book I’m going to query. I have a BA in English with a minor in creative writing so I need to use the degree somehow! Plus if I don’t write, I just might go insane. Sanity is fun.

As for my blog, I like to define it as a Doberman Pinscher on meth. I review books, obviously, but I like to do my own thing. I have a weekly thingy I do spotlighting something from the 80s because, well, I can and I love the 80s. I also do Freaky Fridays which highlights a YA horror book published between 1980 and 1999 just because YA horror doesn’t really exist anymore and I don’t want the good stuff getting lost. I’m anti-Twilight and my readers know that and I’m not afraid to say it. I’m also not afraid to say exactly what I feel about a book. I was always taught, with my writing, that it’s ok to say something sucks so long as the claim is substantiated. So that’s what I do when I review. It can create some . . . interesting posts, to say the least.

2. What inspired you to start blogging?

I’ve had my writing blog for closing in on 2 years now (a year and a half? I have no idea) and I used to review books over there. I wanted to sign up for this book review program with one of the publishers but they wanted strictly review sites so I sat on that for a little while and eventually came to the conclusion that I was going to split the reviews and my writing.

I also got into it as a kind of off-kilter advice from an agent to start looking into review blogs and develop rapports prior to even querying in the hopes of, you know, getting published one day. So I had that as a little bit of ulterior motive as well but the blog has taken on a life of its own and has become its own beast. I think my original intentions were not to get this involved but kind of infiltrate but the community’s so awesome it’s sucked me in completely.

3. What is your favorite thing about blogging?

Hmmm . . . basically the freedom to do my own thing and entertain other people. I like it when my posts make people laugh. And I like interacting with the greater community as a whole.

4. What is your least favorite thing about blogging?

It is time consuming and, in all honesty, the time I spend on my blog could go to writing but I think it’s a good piece of procrastination. Better than be playing Tetris! But I think the worst part about it are those that consider themselves part of the community but are using it just to whore for free ARCs or shit on other bloggers because they’re jealous and basically make the rest of us that play by the rules look bad. I don’t like that. Blogger trolls need to be thwarted with Miak.

5. Have you read any good books lately?

Actually, yes! Surprisingly enough I have three reviews in a row that were rather glowing. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins (I personally thought it was better than Hunger Games), The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo (very beautifully written and a wonderful story) and A Big Little Life by Dean Koontz (a must-read for any dog lover).

6. How big is your TBR pile?

Ridiculously big. I’m not sitting in front of it at the moment but I can tell you it’s six separate piles that equal dozens and dozens of books. It’s nuts. And then there’s the paper TBR pile that’s the back up to the tangible TBR pile. I’m surprised I can actually walk around in my room.

7. How did you come up with your blog’s name?

Because I bite on books and spit out reviews! I think it just went along with my review style. I chew on them, every once in a while I rip them apart, and then I hork the review out. Not exactly feminine, but at least I’m honest with myself.

8. Who is your literature crush?

Uh, huh? Are you talking about characters? I don’t really get those on the books I read. I guess maybe Lucius Malfoy but I think that’s only because Jason Isaacs plays him in the movies. But really, I don’t get those. I heart authors like Stephen King but I really wouldn’t call that a literature crush.

Thank you Donna! I had a great time getting to know you!

3 Responses to BBAW Interview

  1. reviewsbylola says:

    Don’t worry Donna–I’m sure I have as many books in my TBR pile as you. It’s daunting!

  2. Donna says:

    Thanks so much for the interview, Krista! This was an awesome process!

  3. Shalonda says:

    Donna rocks! I love her blog. She has a free spirit and an awesome way with words. It really doesn’t get much better than her!

Leave a Reply

