The Boyfriend Game – Stephie Davis

Freshman Trisha Perkins loves playing soccer on her JV team with her friends Sara and Beth. Then, the soccer coach gives her the opportunity to try out for the varsity team. For the next few weeks, Trisha plans to devote her time improving her skills. Her friends, on the other hand, would much rather flirt with boys at Pop’s. While practicing, Trisha meets Graham, a recently transferred sophomore who is on the varsity team. Together, they declare their passion for playing soccer and their dislike for the dating scene. Things become complicated though when Trisha develops a crush on Graham.

Have you ever had one of those days where all you wanted to do is stay inside, eat cookie dough ice cream (or whatever flavor),  and read a book? If so, The Boyfriend Game is the type of book you would want to read. The novel potrays a first love that could only happen when one is in their beginning years of high school. By the end of the novel, readers will have a small smile on their faces. Everything turns out happily-ever-after, just what they expected.

The Boyfriend Game is not a novel that is going to wow readers. Everything was pretty much average. The plot, the storyline, the writing, etc. This means that readers will unlikely read the book over and over again. One thing I disliked about The Boyfriend Game was how complicated Davis made some of the situations, that in reality, were quite simple. I believe some of this was meant to reflect the awkwardness of first love, but personally I was just annoyed the entire time. Trisha and her friends remind me of some of the annoying freshman at my high school. Maybe I would be able to relate more if I had a first love in freshman or sophomore year.

I would recommend The Boyfriend Game if you are looking for a sugary sweet love story.

Related Links
Stephie Davis’s Site
Amazon
Powell’s

2 Responses to The Boyfriend Game – Stephie Davis

  1. Diana Dang says:

    I believe I really liked one of her other novels. I think it was called Fast Girls, Smart Boys? It was one of my favourites 3-4 years ago.

    Thanks for the review!

  2. amy says:

    I’ve been wanting to read this for AGES! Thanks for the review-I’m a sucker for sugary predictable romances ;-D
    -AMY

Leave a Reply

