Ask an Author – Jennifer Echols

Today, I have an author interview from Jennifer Echols, the author of one of favorite reads of 2009, Going Too Far. Jennifer is also the author of several Simon Pulse romantic comedies and Forget You, which will be released in 2010.

1. If you could only use one word to describe Going Too Far, what would you use and why?

Dark. This book is very unlike my romantic comedies–it goes places those books don’t go. Also, almost the entire book is set at night.

2. Do you enjoy writing YA romantic comedies or dramas more? Why?

I enjoy both, and the book I’m working on at the moment is always my favorite ever. That is the truth. I like writing a comedy and then a drama, back and forth, because that keeps my writing fresh. I don’t like writing the same sort of story over and over.

3. What is your favorite thing about being a YA author?

Messages from fans! I was a reader long before I was a writer, and I know exactly what it’s like to love a book so much that you read it ten times. When someone tells me they’ve enjoyed my books as much as I’ve enjoyed books by other authors…that is the best feeling in the world.

4. What is your least favorite thing about being a writer?

The uncertainty. Even best-selling authors know they’d better stay on top of their game, because if just one of their titles doesn’t sell well, they may have a hard time getting another book contract, ever. It’s like the constant fear of being laid off from your job, times ten.

5. What were your favorite books as a teen?

I was a big fan of Lois Duncan, Paula Danziger, and Judy Blume, but my absolute favorites were The Moonspinners by Mary Stewart and The Beginning Place by Ursula K. Le Guin.

6. Do you have any advice for teens?

Enjoy this time safely! You will remember it fondly for the rest of your life.

7. What can you tell us about your upcoming novels?

Oooh, I can’t wait! Forget You is a romantic drama coming from MTV Books on July 20. When swim team captain Zoey wakes up from a car accident with partial amnesia, she is torn between the boy she remembers…and the one she doesn’t.
Two weeks later, on August 3, Simon Pulse will publish my romantic comedy Endless Summer, the sequel to The Boys Next Door. After breaking curfew, Lori and Adam are forbidden to see each other. Lori thinks going out with boys scarier than Adam will force her dad to give in…but Adam’s jealousy may ruin everything.

Special thanks to Jennifer for participating in this interview. 🙂 If you would like to know more about Jennifer or her novels, visit her website or blog.

One Response to Ask an Author – Jennifer Echols

  1. Diana Dang says:

    Going to Far is one my wishlist and I have yet to read Jennifer’s novels. Great interview!

Leave a Reply

