In My Mailbox July 27 – August 1

In My Mailbox was created by Kristi of The Story Siren.

Along for the Ride (ARC) – Sarah Dessen
It’s been so long since Auden slept at night. Ever since her parents’ divorce—or since the fighting started. Now she has the chance to spend a carefree summer with her dad and his new family in the charming beach town where they live.

A job in a clothes boutique introduces Auden to the world of girls: their talk, their friendship, their crushes. She missed out on all that, too busy being the perfect daughter to her demanding mother. Then she meets Eli, an intriguing loner and a fellow insomniac who becomes her guide to the nocturnal world of the town. Together they embark on parallel quests: for Auden, to experience the carefree teenage life she’s been denied; for Eli, to come to terms with the guilt he feels for the death of a friend.

In her signature pitch-perfect style, Sarah Dessen explores the hearts of two lonely people learning to connect.

The Gentlemen’s Alliance Vol. 1 – Arina Tanemura
A girl who attends an expensive academy high school develops a relationship with the school’s richest and most handsome boy. There are a lot of complicated family details involved in their relationship (It turns out that they’re connected by an incident that took place when they were both children), but it includes all of Tanemura’s trademark plot devices: angst and uncertainty about relationships, the difference between being friends as children and being in a more adult relationship, insecurities about ones position in life and how they affect relationships.

Beginner’s Love – Norma Klein
A frank, contemporary novel about a young couple experiencing love and sexual awakening for the first time. With candor and grace, Beginner’s Love explores the excitement and joy of a new relationship as well as the problems that can arise when two people are old enough for passion but too young to deal with its complications.

Country Boy – Joyce McGill
I can’t find a cover or synopsis online and am too lazy to actually get the book right now. 😛

My Thoughts
I bookmooched the Norma Klein novel after seeing this blog post. The person who I got the book from has a 2 for 1 deal, so I picked Country Boy because it didn’t look as terrible as the others. 😛

10 Responses to In My Mailbox July 27 – August 1

  1. Diana Dang says:

    Oh my god, I absolutely hate The Gentlemen’s Alliance. o-o Tortured myself up to vol. 8. Wonder what your take on it will be.

  2. Thao says:

    Along For The Ride is good. I hope you enjoy it.

  3. Carrie says:

    I’ll need to seek out that Norma Klein. It looks really good. Surprised I haven’t already read it.

  4. Michelle says:

    I like the last cover. Enjoy your books!

    Peace
    Michelle

  5. Eli says:

    Oo You read Manga! I have a couple old issues of ribon with Gentlemans Alliance in it– x) Happy reading!

  6. Briana says:

    I’ll be getting Along for the Ride pretty soon too! 🙂

    -Briana

  7. Rebecca says:

    Great books you got this week, hope you enjoy reading all of them.

  8. Wdebo says:

    Hope you enjoy Along For The Ride it was really good!

  9. Bri says:

    Your post reminded me I’ve not bookmooched in a LONG time.

    I hope you like Along for the Ride. I’ve never read a Sarah Dessen novel. I’m thinking of doing the Dessen challenge.

Leave a comment